Pet Peeves! Part 1

I adore metaphors. They are the wind beneath my wings. I love descriptive writing. The sparkling dialogue reverberates through the whole history of my being like a breeze through the Redwood forest.

Know what I don’t like? Eyeballs. Specifically ones that fall on things.

You know what I mean. “My eyes fell on the hot guy in the corner.”

Eyeballs are always getting up to mischief, and it’s time we stopped them!

“His eyes slid down my dress.”

“Her eyes followed me as I backed out of the room.”

“Sharon’s eyes landed on the fruitcake behind the centerpiece.”

“Marta’s eyes glided around the dance floor.”

ETA: “Her eyes flit around until finally resting on what she was looking for.”

“Juan’s eyes lingered on Patrick’s new cleats.”

There are so many different and arguably better ways to say these things that don’t involve squishy spheres leading independent lives. Let’s try those ways and then decide which sounds better. K?

Share your favorite abuses of this one in the comments.

6 comments

  1. Nicole Sharkey · April 28, 2016

    How about eyes that hover or wander? There also seems to be a difference between an eye that wanders and a wandering eye. In the case of wandering (and roving) eyes, the owner of the eyes seems blameless. Mischief? How about promiscuous!

    Like

  2. Giselle · April 28, 2016

    Keeping your eyes out for something is pretty creepy!

    Like

  3. aneducationinbooks · April 28, 2016

    “Her eyes ravished his long, lean body.”

    Like

  4. Tracey M. Cox · April 28, 2016

    She had eyes for the captain of the football team.

    Ummm, who’s eyes has she been taking out? Why does she want to give them to the guy? Eww!

    Like

  5. Lara · May 19, 2016

    “Eyes shot open” is a personal peeve. Probably because as a military wife, I get an immediate visual.

    Like

  6. Lauren · May 23, 2016

    Similarly, “Looking at you, looking back at me.” Or “You seeing me, seeing you.” There are a dozen songs with a variety of this line and it kills me! The only time it was acceptable was when Adam Duritz did it, because… I mean, Counting Crows!

    Like

Leave a Reply

