No Frills Book Review: How to Avoid a Soggy Bottom

The Great British Bake Off has a book! My love affair can continue between seasons.

This isn’t a baking book, although it does contain recipes (for rough puff, hot-water pastry, and other things I’d never heard of until I watched the show). More, it contains answers to such questions as “why is shortbread called bread when it’s a biscuit?” and “what exactly is sugar?” making this a fascinating history and science book.

More later, I’m making some tea while I settle in to figure out how to reduce my proving time.

One comment

  1. Teresa Robeson · January 11, 2016

    The GBBO is my absolute favorite show! I knew Paul has a cookbook but I didn’t know about this one. Must. Have. It. Now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

